My Ice Cube Keeper Engineering Challenge

abigail-ice-cube

Ice Cube Keeper Engineering Challenge

Ask: How long will a thermos keep an ice cube cold?

Next, we imagined what our ice cube keeper would look like, planned, and created it. How to make an awesome ice cube keeper for me would be that first, you freeze a thermos for at least two hours. Then take a plastic bowl. Take a little bit of tin foil and put it on the bottom so it curls up a bit Then put some tissues on the bottom. Lay the thermos on top. Take big pieces of tinfoil and wrap it around, leaving about a foot blank. Wrap the thermos in the foil (a small piece). Do not cover the bottom. Now cover the rest with the left over tinfoil from the wrapping of the outside. Measure an ice cube, and put it back in. Record how long it was in centimeters. Do this every hour and see how long it will last!

I predict that my ice cube will stay frozen for four and a half hours.

My table:

Time: Measurement: Observations:
10:02 4.5 cm The ice was very cold.
10:45 4.5 cm It was the same size.
12:01 4 cm It was wet.
1:04 3 cm It was melty.
1:30 2.5 cm It was still cold.
3:00 2 cm It was almost gone.

I might try this to keep my ice cube from melting as soon as it did. I would freeze my thermos longer.

My reflections: My ice cube keeper worked well because of my thermos. Next time, I would freeze my thermos longer. I thought everybody had good ideas. I really liked this project!

 

Leave a Reply